Snowplow Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i get assigned to a lot that has been driven on and is non-treated and have to clear it , But I only have a plastic cutting edge.
Is it possible that I can clean the area down to the surface?
Its my first year with this edge.

·
Registered
622 Posts
I don't own a u edge but I know my fisher with a steel edge would have a hard time scraping that up. My old boss and western would get most of it up.

·
Registered
5,177 Posts
It probably wont clear unless the sun can get to it . you would need down pressure to scrape that

·
Registered
447 Posts
Salt Salt Salt. If you could get a good amount of salt on it and some sunshine, you could clear that. Any blade no matter which edge is on it, is going to have a hard time with that. Just be sure to let your customer know that they are going to have some extra expenses. Or even if you eat some of the price for the salt, and get it clear, they might be happy and keep your services. But if its not worth the effort, turn the other way. I ran into a driveway like this once. When I bid it, I just figured on using salt to get down to the surface, then they call and say, "We don't want salt on our drive, just so you know" I explained that it would take a warm day and some sunshine and they understood. I still have that account. And now I don't give them a chance to drive on it before it piles up.

·
Registered
445 Posts
WalkingMan what type of equipment do you have? Do you or the people you work for have salting capabilities. If so if , and you have lots that you know are going to be driven on you need to make sure those lots are pretreated before it snows.

·
Registered
866 Posts