Snowplow Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need advice as I'm a newbie.

Last night I hooked up the plow for the snow storm that fizzled out. When giving the plow a a little bit of a helping hand, so that I could lock the plow in place, I was able to "angle" the plow back and forth by hand. This was before the power harnesses were connected.

This morning, I disconnected the plow before I left for work and I didn't have time to check anything further.

Tonight, I needed to move the plow and the same thing occured.

1) Should you be able to "angle" the blade back and forth when the unit is not powered up?

2) When I try and colapse the cyclinder that raises and lowers the plow, it does not colapse all the way down. When I let go, it goes back up.

Background information: When I returned to the dealer and picked up the correct plow (a week later after taking delivery because they had installed a smaller plow on my truck and I didn't notice it until the next day.) from the dealer, they had to add fluid to the pump before I left.

In addition, they had left a fitting loose and I lost some fluid (noticed the next day) after I had gotten home and dropped the plow.

Are these symptoms of low fluid or air in the system? Or are these normal conditions?

·
Banned
1,973 Posts
There is a lot of air in your system.

Run it a bunch of times to work it out.

Then check fluid lever periodicly with the lift cylinder all the way down.

·
Registered
8,323 Posts
It does sound like air.Parking it on a steep downhill and working the plow back and forth fully may help work it out.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the input. I worked on the plow this afternoon.