Snowplow Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, although I'm new to post I have been going thru the threads for a long while. Anyway, I bought some 55 watt "fog" lights to use for my reverse lights while I'm plowing. I have a 2002 Chevrolet 2500HD 6.0 :mad: with a meyer 7 1/2 classic on it. My problem is this, I wired up the lights using a 3 way 25 amp switch so I could leave the lights on or have them go on when in reverse. I also used a 30 amp relay from radio shack and all 12 guage wire. I grounded the lights by the mounting bracket. I used both of these diagrams for wiring it. http://www.letstalksnow.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13172&highlight=switch and http://www.snowplowing-contractors.com/alan_reverse_lights.html . I then started the truck only to see the lights go on while the switch is in the off position. I then turned the switch to where it would have the lights on all the time and it burnt the ground wire within seconds. I went over the wiring about 10 times and it was correct each of the times. I am lost as to why this would happen. Is it possible the relay is no good? Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys and sorry for the long post

Nick

·
Registered
33 Posts