Snowplow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie snow plower, and basically am starting to plow two stone/gravel driveways this year (my house and another apartment building). My driveway has a slight crown to it, but not too dramatic.

I'll be using a 7.5' Fisher, but it doesn't have any shoes on it. Do I need shoes to prevent pushing all the stone off the driveway?

I found the attached (6" or 7" round bottom with lynch pin ... for some reason, the pic doesn't show up in the preview ...) at www.discountsnowplowparts.com but any suggestions in finding the right shoes for my plow is appreciated too!

Thanks!

·
Registered
8,323 Posts
You shouldn't need them,even on gravel drives.

Just lift the plow up a hair,to prevent the plow from digging into the gravel.

If you really want a set,I'm sure there are quite a few guys with an unused set in their garage.

A urethane edge will also help when plowing gravel drives.

·
Registered
909 Posts
Chris and the guys on here have plowed about 10 million times as many miles as I have and I am sometimes reluctant to disagree with them but it sounds like you are about as new to plowing as I was a couple of years ago. And I had a bad time plowing loose gravel roads and drives as you stated. In the spring my first year I had tons of stones to move back into the driveway. If your plowing well packed bank gravel you might be fine with just the blade but if like people do here just pour on a layer of 2B stone every couple years then IMO you will find it hard to hover your blade a inch above the ground and get a nice looking job without digging in here and there. And the reverse is leaving areas with 4 or 5 inches when you go over a rise.