Snowplow Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just went out and hooked up my plow to check it over and noticed that one cylinder won't hold that side of the plow outward. It creeps back ever so slowly. Since I am completely new to plows... what is wrong (if anything) and what should I do about it?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
660 Posts
You either have:
* A leak in a fitting, line, or cylinder you'd know it for sure.

* A lot of air in the system.

* A defective Relief Valve (the one that collapses the wings upon impact)

* A defective control valve

But first I would make sure all connections are tight, all wires are tight, and fluid is properly full.

Let us know how you make out.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Tommy..

I don't see any leaks what-so-ever. Everything around the valve assembly, hoses, and cylinders are super clean. The hoses and fittings are new.

How do you know if you have air? How do you get it out?

I will check the hydro fluid again tomorrow. It looked okay.

What wires specifically? The ones on the valves?

As far as a valve.. Is there a way to identify which would be the culprit so I don't have to buy both?

·
Registered
660 Posts
Air in system.....Should fix itself, but I was just thinking that since you just transported it, and it may have been upside down. It was just a guess.

I would check and wiggle every wire on the unit. Clean all major power contacts while your at it, including the power wires (weatherpack truck to plow socket) You could have corrosion and be getting a poor ground and that may be enough to make a solenoid stick a little.