Snowplow Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up a 1998 z71 yesterday and I have a couple challenges I'd like to address as soon as possible. I used to be a motorcycle mechanic so I have a general grasp of mechanical things but I don't have one ounce of acquired knowledge when it comes to trouble shooting these trucks. You guys have always been great! Thanks in advance for the help.

Problem 1: Truck will not come out of park after it is started or even with ignition turned all the way to On. The only way to get it out of Park is to turn they key softly forward and as soon as the shifter location indicator lights up orange on the dash, you can take it out of park and start it in Neutral, then do your driving etc. However if you ever put it back in Park, even with the motor running, it won't come back out. And yes, I've mashed the brake pedal to the floor, lol.

Problem 2: Cruise control doesn't work and I don't have a trouble shooting / diagnostic chart.

Problem 3: The volt meter reads low but the battery doesn't go dead etc. With headlights and AC on it reads around 11.5v, shut them off and it goes up to around 14v. I drove it home 2.5 hrs with headlights on and AC running. Strange part is the Starter doesn't drag, headlights aren't dim, everything seems fine except the gauge and the amount of fluctuation I see.

Challenge 4: I was told by the previous owner that from the factory the truck had 3/23 gears and he changed them to 3/73 to make it better for pulling a trailer in 3rd gear (out of over drive). He did change both front and rear ends so they match. Can you give me some pros / cons about leaving it this way? I do not plan to plow with this truck. I plan to use it for hunting trips and running feeders here at the ranch. Rims are factory and tires are 285/75-16

·
LetsTalkSnow.com - Moderator
4,902 Posts