Snowplow Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to the idea of plowing. I recently bought some property at 6700 feet in Montana, and we are looking to build on it and live there year round, but there is a mountain road that is not maintained beyond a certain point during the winter, so I am looking to maintain it myself. I don't have a truck yet, but I'm pretty set on an F350 or equivalent 3500 model, I'm open to recommendations for which year, and for which plow to get.
The dirt road is about 6 miles, about 3 of which are maintained by another local, and relatively narrow (its about a lane and a half in most places, just enough for passing oncoming traffic at low speeds, and only in some spots) over the course of those 6 miles is about a 1400 foot elevation change, the town sits at 5300 feet. The road is in relatively good shape for not being maintained by the city, but it has some dips from rain washout and can get a bit rocky in certain spots. I'm looking to do some cleanup on some of the bigger rocks.
We live in town right now, but I want to be able to live on my offgrid property and I want to get the right equipment for the job. The road is set up that I could easily push snow off one side of it, as it has a rock wall on the one side and a drop off on the other. The road has decent southern exposure so with the parts that are maintained the little bit of ice that is left melts relatively easily, but it is likely I will be dealing with 2-3 feet of snow that I would be attempting to plow off the one side.

Any recommendations on equipment and plowing style for this project? Or anything I've missed?

·
Super Moderator
133 Posts
Welcome to the site, may want to look at something with tracks, like a skid steer with snow blower or even blade.