Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 131 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm looking for some advice on purchasing a plow truck to take care of a personal driveway. I'm looking into purchasing a house (or just acreage to build on) with at least 300 acres possibly more in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The location will hopefully be on or close to one of the great lakes. I'm not sure if that will really make much of a difference in snow fall if I'm on the shore or not. The driveway I will have will bprobably be anywhere between 1500-2500 feet long. I want to have a house as close as possible to the water. I will be upfront I have very little knowledge of vehicles. I've never been a car guy; and, since living and working in major metros of the US and Europe, I usually I just use: trains, cabs or uber lately. I travel extensively for work so owning a car hasn't been a high priority to me. And I'm originally from the suburban areas so I've never owned a truck. I'm looking to simplify and disconnect myself from so much technology in modern life. And this area of Michigan appeals to me large lake, rugged nature, and great potential to decompress from technology.

So, I first purposed this question over at another site called *************-- the results were mixed and the moderator was an odd one. I was given a link to some user that got banned about some things. So, I asked about contacting said user my thread was terminated and I was given the third degree by the head honcho. After that I surmised that the site was not the place for me. So, here are my new questions:

1) Is a 1-ton Pickup truck big enough to handle my needs? Or do I go bigger?
2) What sort of plow package should I put on it? There was a lot talk about V-Plows. I did research them. However, I'm still not sure if I need one?
3) What sort of other equipment for the truck will I need? There was some talk of Tire Chains and I'm unsure if I need them or not.