Snowplow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
I just got a call today from my insurance broker, informing me that my business policy is up on Dec 1 and the company will not renew my policy because I plow snow. He told me he called 9 other insurance companys and no one would want to cover me except 1 company who qoated him over $5000 to cover me. I was paying $850 per year and have never had a claim of any type.

I don't mind so much that they don't want my business, what I don't like is that they waited 2 weeks before the policy was up to let know me of this. If they had told me about this a month ago I might found another line of work for the winter but right now I'm obligated to take care of my customers until the spring. My trucks are covered under my auto policy but not for slip and fall accidents. I'm a small time operator and there is no way I can afford to pay this.

Are any of you other Canadian guys having the same trouble?

Ray - http://www.insurancepanda.com

·
Registered
8,323 Posts
Yep.I got lucky,and my policy was renewed in October.They have warned me they may not renew it next year.

Was chatting with another contractor today,and he was just dropped,and no one will take him on now.He was saying quite a few companies have were dropping people this week.

Maybe something went down that we don't know about yet ? This is getting scary.

:confused:

·
Registered
34 Posts
Try CNLA Hort-Protect . From what I understand Lombard is currently the only insurance company who will write a snow policy in Canada. Discounts apply to Landscape Ontario Members. Doug Kettler is the guy to speak with. Good luck.

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Diginahole: thanks for the tip. I just sent them an e-mail to get a price. I guess there is going to be lots of guys with no insurance this season if everyone is getting dumped. At least I'm not the only one.

Ray

·
Registered
8,323 Posts