Snowplow Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After seeing the backdragging performance of our meyer ST-90, it is safe to say that we need a back drag edge. I am a decent welder, and am just wondering if anyone has one on their plow? It would be nice to build it myself, than pay 200 bucks for a factory piece. What is the ideal angle for the edge? Any pics and info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
1,314 Posts
If i were you iwould try and go to the dealer an take a look at one from the factory then just mimic it...

·
Registered
1,741 Posts
Put a urethane cutting edge on it. Then you can have all of the benefits of them while plowing forward, and you won't need to add a back drag edge for plowing backward. :cool:

·
Registered
622 Posts
I would not put a back drag blade on a meyers. The pivot pin tubes tend to brake off the plow.( I know first hand) My welder told me thats what would happen when he tried to talk me out of putting a back dragger on. I only made it through 2 storms.
What I would do is what BRL said or add 200 to 300 pounds of weight to the plow.

·
Registered
866 Posts
I would definitely look into whether or not the blade would support it, like slplow said, he damaged his blade using one. I have a Fisher, and I would like to put a back drag blad on with a new cutting edge, but before I can do that I need to go through the blade and aframe to replace the pins, and tighten everthing up before I can even think about trying to find one or make one. If you can add wieght to your blade that will definitely help, and then you can take a little time to figure out a way to safely mount one. Nothing is impossible, that is why necesity is the mother of invention- I have done many things that I have been told are impossible- very successfully.

Bill

·
Registered
1,783 Posts