Snowplow Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone help me find some inexpensive driveway stakes??? Most of my highbrow commercial accounts require them it can get a lil pricey!!!!!:headwall :headwall

·
Registered
400 Posts
We al;so use PVC or electrial conduit. 10' is aroun $ 1.40, we get 3 stakes out of it. Paint it red or green. I've been using these now for around 5 years, was first in area It's amazing now how many you see. My wife made a comment the other day how so many people have taken my idea.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Castle - we just got 1000 of Angelo's stakes, and have installed about 1/2 of them so far. Don't be fooled by the 1/4" width. They are very sturdy, and once installed will take a good deal of punishment.

·
Registered
29 Posts
I used 1/2" pvc pipe cut into 4 ft lenghts with tape at the tops. It was cheaper to buy a 20' section than it was for a 10' when i bought in bulk. I found that Lowes sells 20' lengths of 1/2" pvc for $1.60 while they sell 10' lengths for $1.38.
I got 5 sections from a 20' while only 4 from 2 10' sections with 2 2' sections left over. So it was 32c per stake for the 20' piece vs. .69c per stake for the 10' piece with leftover pvc from the cut off ends. I guess you could make the stakes 5' with no waste, but when you can buy 10 extra ft for 22c more, why bother with 5'?

·
Registered
2,062 Posts
The PVC or conduit work best and as mentioned are most cost effective. Just don't use anything that is metal. A guy here used foundation pins and did not realize during one storm that he had shifted one, somehow it ended up through his door panel.

·
Registered
609 Posts
John Banks said:
The PVC or conduit work best and as. Just don't use anything that is metal.
last time I checked conduit was steel