Snowplow Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to snow removal and got my first plow this past spring, a Curtis Snow Pro, and it would float so easily it would leave 3"+ on the ground. Can resistance be adjusted?

Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
1,565 Posts
'02 Dodge Ram 1500
Did you just get the plow for this truck or purchase the truck as snow plow package? The Curtis sno pro I know of is a chain lift system. So, it always floats when the blade is rest on the ground. The only way to make it more resistant to rising is to a) change the blade’s angle of attack relative to the surface or b) add weight to the plow blade and it’s frame. It is possible that your plow’s angle of attack has changed due to wear or other damage and thus no longer positioned in such away to maximize contact with surface and builds up snow underneath the blade and it starts to rise. Option b I would not recommend since you could really alter the weight of plow in such away to make trip either not early enough or way to often not mention over stress the plow frame. I would focus on finding the manufacturer’s mounting specs for your vehicle and see if the plow is still in spec. The problem is Curtis stopped making plows for class 2-3 trucks awhile ago and I think it might be hard to find the information you need. You could try storks.com.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5