Snowplow Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend of mine just told me he is going to unload his 8' Fisher which is mounted on a F-250 1985. Its a hydraulic outfit with the yellow triangle out front and thats all I know right now as to Model. How hard is it to adapt the Ford frame to fit a 1988 Chevy Silverado 1500 ? I am getting it for $250 so I can afford to mess around some. I won't be doing this too quickly so spring is the time frame. Whats involved? I am a pretty fair welder and fabricator right from scratch. Any comments welcome.

·
Registered
622 Posts
Hi drizler, Thats a great deal for a plow but 90% of it would not work on your truck. The plow for your truck should be a 7.5 ft . That 8ft fisher is a very heavy plow and would kill your truck. The only thing you could use from that set up is the pump and controls to it and you would need different brackets to mount that pump.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Too Heavy?

For a 1/2 ton mine is the exception. Its been modified to drag a heavy trailer and is heavy duty all around. It sits 4" higher than normal Silverados. I routinely (carefully) carry 1 ton of crushed stone back to repair my driveway, and once had the guy screwed up and put 1.95 on there and I had to waddle down the back road with that.
If I had to I could cut down that blade I suppose it wouldn't be much trouble. I have a torch, grinders a 230 amp welder ect... My big concern is how much modification would be necessary to make the frame mount fit. I know of a great, cheap welding shop that can easily handle whatever I can't deal with. I guess my main problem is that while I have just about done it all I never had cause to pay attention to plows. About the only thing I know about them is that they are a lot nicer to use than my current 7' blade on the back of my Ferguson tractor. My neck is gettin stiff working that thing over 1000' of driveway.

·
Registered
908 Posts