Snowplow Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
What software do you guys/gals use for manageing your business? Last year i used excel, this year i'm using Act!. i have about 40-50 residential customers and am thinking to include landscaping in the other seasons.

Act! is good, lots of contact info, good note keeping and a ton of other stuff (it's geared towards sales) but there's no invoiceing capacity.

Excel was good because i could move/group diffrent clients as needed (say to set up a sub route) but i'm thinking theres got to be something better.

Is it better to use 2 programs (quickbooks & Act!?)

thanks! :feedback

·
Registered
60 Posts
Software

I've been using Quickbooks for about 4 years now, it works great for us. Big thing to remember is make sure what ever you use, your accountant will use it also. With QB you can customize invoices and set clients up on individual terms, pricing, etc. For routing I just use a generic excel or works spreadsheet

·
Registered
29 Posts
Quickbooks was a little to expensive for me so I use Quicken, which I think is maade by the same company. It does my invoicing,statements, customer list and even does estimating. I also keep the company checkbook and accounts payable on it.

·
Registered
132 Posts
Software

I use GroundsKeeper Pro. The main thing I use it for is landscaping, but it works excellent for snow stuff too. Adkad is the company that makes it, and they also make "BlizzardBuster", a scaled back version of GK. It is fairly close to GK but it doesnt have the pesticide tracking and things like that, that you dont need for plowing. The Thing I like best about it is the invoicing. It produces a very professional looking invoice that is easy for the customer to pay from. You can download a free trial at their website. I believe it is: adkad.com