Snowplow Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to plowing and I've been shopping around for a new plow. I like the fact that the Boss and Snoway do not use a lift chain. Which plow is better or which is the better deal? I'm looking for a 7 1/2' straightblade for a 1/2 ton chevy.
Thanks

·
Registered
445 Posts
chevymann, I own both plows and they are both good, I would recomend going with the Snoway on your 1/2 ton because it weights a little less plus it has the down pressure feature.

·
Registered
1,783 Posts
I don't have an opinion on either plow, but I do have an opinion!!

Don't rule out, select, not consider a certain plow because it does/ doesn't have a lift chain. I may be about to find out differently, but I have no complaints about "chained" plows. I now own my second plow that is lifted with a chain. When I was shopping blizzard, that was a HUGE selling point for the guy I was talking to. He said "it doesn't bounce all over the place like a chain-lifted plow" HOOEY!!!!! My plow hardly ever bounces, and neither did my 7.5 Pro plow either. The only time my 7.5 acted up was when I had just installed a new (stiff) rubber deflector, and drove 65mph into a 30mph headwind... it kinda got lifted up to the stops. I think I've seen Mike 97 SS mention that he chokes the chain down far enough to transport the plow up on the stops for stability.

that said, I believe snoway and boss are both excellent equipment... in my inexperienced opinion!

·
Registered
413 Posts
I have both SnoWay's and Boss V's. I do not have a Boss straight blade, but I wouldn't hesitate to buy one if I ever thought I need/wanted a straight blade again.