Snowplow Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First let me say I was glad to find you all! I have been over on the other site and wonder where Wlydman and some of the other regulars disappeared too. I posted this same question on that other site and gained some information but I still am confused. Let me see what I can learn here! I have done searches and I still don't know how to price the increments and what exactly happens on a larger snow. What type of % should I use for the next bracket? If 2" - 4" is $275.00 what is 4"-6"? What if the continues snow comes during the morning - so I have to go hit the lot for the morning business and then come back to complete after the snow ends? I am VERY new to the business and I want to be fair and cover myself.

Thanks for the help!

B.C.

·
Registered
2,249 Posts
There are some differences in your strategy from mine but basically I charge so much per snowfall in per storm or snowfall in a 24 hour period, in case one storm lasts more than 24 hours. Personally, I would suggest a wider range than 2" but that's up to you. I go with 3" range. Now mine breaks down like this with a 3" trigger:

3" to 6" - xxx (ie: $30)
over 6" to 9" - xxx times 1 1/2 ($45)
over 9" to 12" - xxx times 2 ($60)
over 12" - xxx times 2 plus yyy (ie: $1) per inch over 12"

Twenty four hours after the start of a snowfall will start a new billing cycle. So, using the figures above, if you got 15" of snow the first day, you would charge $63 for that first day. Now, it keeps snowing the next day and snows another 20" and finally stops - charge: $68 + $63 for the first day = $131 for the storm.

Depending on your customer's needs you might also consider charging based on the amount pushed, especially if they need plowed at a certain time (before opening).

Using my figures above and saying they needed plowed by 7:30: