Chains, Tensioners and Studded Tires? - Snow Plow Forum -†Let's Talk Snow Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 12-16-2017, 05:46 AM Thread Starter

Chains, Tensioners and Studded Tires?

Hi,

I'm still pretty new to plowing, this is only my second winter. Last winter, mid-season I ditched the old plow truck I bought from the previous homeowner as it was becoming a money pit.

Now I'm plowing with my 2013 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD, with a Fisher V-Plow.

Combined I have about 3/4 of a mile of driveway and Class 6 town dirt road to keep clear. (In NH a "Class 6" road is owned by a town, but not maintained). My challenge is the top 500 feet of my driveway are paved asphalt, and VERY steep. Last winter only the top parking apron & about 100' of driveway were paved, and the rest of the hill was dirt. We paved another 400' or so late this past summer. Reasons being that, a) torrential rains in the spring and summer washed nearly all of the top layer of the driveway off, and b) the hill faces southwest, and the old parts of the paved driveway always melted nicely in the sun, even in sub freezing temps, so we figured the pavement would help keep the driveway ice free.